Ability to merge organizations | The place for Zendesk users to come together and share
Skip to main content
August 17, 2011
Delivered

Ability to merge organizations

Related products:Support
  • August 17, 2011
  • 211 replies
  • 467 views

We absolutely need the ability to merge organizations much like you would merge users or tickets. It is not uncommon for one of our customers to acquire another customer or for a company with two different business units that had separate purchases to ask us to merge their accounts and manage as one unit. Zendesk does not seem to offer the ability to merge at this level.

One possible (but ugly workaround) is to re-link all users from the disintegrating organization to the surviving organization and then either "delete" or somehow mark inactive the account that is being consumed. Zendesk should provide this capability with the full understanding that all activity and history is merged and only one account will survive at the end.

    211 replies

    March 12, 2017

    Not sure what else needs to be said about this.  It seems fairly obvious.  Surprising and disappointing that it has been ignored despite so many requests and the seemingly obvious need for this functionality.

    March 17, 2017

    +1

     

    April 17, 2017

    I was surprised when I searched for instructions on how to merge the tickets of two organizations that I found this thread, rather than instructions.
    In my case (I don't know how) I have the same organization in Zendesk twice.

    And, of course, they are very active clients and tickets are randomly spread across the two orgs.

    This is making life kind of difficult.
    Our local Zendesk "guru" is out of the office this week.

    Hopefully he can figure a work-around of some sort.
    Thanks,
    Jim

    April 24, 2017

    +1

    May 4, 2017

    +1!

    May 11, 2017

    +1
    This is very basic functionality in every other system I've used.

    May 11, 2017

    We would like this feature as well. Orgs get created by accident, or incorrectly, and without the ability to merge them to the correct org, it looks like the only work around is to re-assign every ticket in the erroneous org to the proper one. This becomes very time consuming but the alternative is to live with unreliable data. Would love to see this on a (near) future release.  

    Dan32
    May 11, 2017

    To add to the above comment - if the erroneous org already has closed tickets, they'll never be made visible in the account, they can't be moved over. Fragmenting customer ticket history is really a problem - please build this feature!

    May 11, 2017

    We only have one person setting up organizations so we have not had any issues with them being setup in error. We do, however, have an issue with our customers acquiring another one of our customers. This has happened on a handful of occasions and we suspect will happen again. The customers that acquires now has no insight into the issues that their new company has had. This has made us look bad on a number of occasions with our customers. This seems so basic so I am really confused as to why after 6 years of asking for this, there is no traction on this. 

    August 8, 2017

    We definitely need this functionality - I find it very strange that it does not exist, we can merge users but not Organisations.

    We have customers that change name/domain or are known by different names and we continually have issues with duplicate Organisations being created in the system. As customers acquiring other customers.